Read Colecționarul by John Fowles Free Online

Ebook Colecționarul by John Fowles read! Book Title: Colecționarul
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 718 KB
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 2745 times
Reader ratings: 4.4
The author of the book: John Fowles
Edition: Polirom
Date of issue: 2007

Read full description of the books:

"Colectionarul", primul roman al lui John Fowles, este o carte cu o conceptie absolut originala, despre pasiunea unui functionar neinsemnat. Un tinar timid, asocial, el este usor-usor cuprins de nevinovata bucurie de a colectiona obiecte. Odata cu primirea unei mosteniri consistente, mica lui placere ia proportii si ajunge treptat sa-i domine viata. Destinul sau capata o intorsatura neobisnuita atunci cind rapeste si sechestreaza o studenta la Arte Frumoase, incercind sa stabileasca astfel o legatura afectiva imposibila intre el si victima

Romanul "Colectionarul" a inspirat o ecranizare de succes, in regia lui William Wyler, de trei ori nominalizata la premiile Oscar si cistigatoare a Globului de Aur.

Download Colecționarul PDF Colecționarul PDF
Download Colecționarul ERUB Colecționarul PDF
Download Colecționarul DOC Colecționarul PDF
Download Colecționarul TXT Colecționarul PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Colecționarul read Online! John Robert Fowles was born in Leigh-on-Sea, a small town in Essex. He recalled the English suburban culture of the 1930s as oppressively conformist and his family life as intensely conventional. Of his childhood, Fowles said "I have tried to escape ever since."

Fowles attended Bedford School, a large boarding school designed to prepare boys for university, from ages 13 to 18. After briefly attending the University of Edinburgh, Fowles began compulsory military service in 1945 with training at Dartmoor, where he spent the next two years. World War II ended shortly after his training began so Fowles never came near combat, and by 1947 he had decided that the military life was not for him.

Fowles then spent four years at Oxford, where he discovered the writings of the French existentialists. In particular he admired Albert Camus and Jean-Paul Sartre, whose writings corresponded with his own ideas about conformity and the will of the individual. He received a degree in French in 1950 and began to consider a career as a writer.

Several teaching jobs followed: a year lecturing in English literature at the University of Poitiers, France; two years teaching English at Anargyrios College on the Greek island of Spetsai; and finally, between 1954 and 1963, teaching English at St. Godric's College in London, where he ultimately served as the department head.

The time spent in Greece was of great importance to Fowles. During his tenure on the island he began to write poetry and to overcome a long-time repression about writing. Between 1952 and 1960 he wrote several novels but offered none to a publisher, considering them all incomplete in some way and too lengthy.

In late 1960 Fowles completed the first draft of The Collector in just four weeks. He continued to revise it until the summer of 1962, when he submitted it to a publisher; it appeared in the spring of 1963 and was an immediate best-seller. The critical acclaim and commercial success of the book allowed Fowles to devote all of his time to writing.

The Aristos, a collection of philosophical thoughts and musings on art, human nature and other subjects, appeared the following year. Then in 1965, The Magus - drafts of which Fowles had been working on for over a decade - was published.

The most commercially successful of Fowles' novels, The French Lieutenant's Woman, appeared in 1969. It resembles a Victorian novel in structure and detail, while pushing the traditional boundaries of narrative in a very modern manner.

In the 1970s Fowles worked on a variety of literary projects--including a series of essays on nature--and in 1973 he published a collection of poetry, Poems.

Daniel Martin, a long and somewhat autobiographical novel spanning over 40 years in the life of a screenwriter, appeared in 1977, along with a revised version of The Magus. These were followed by Mantissa (1982), a fable about a novelist's struggle with his muse; and A Maggot (1985), an 18th century mystery which combines science fiction and history.

In addition to The Aristos, Fowles wrote a variety of non-fiction pieces including many essays, reviews, and forewords/afterwords to other writers' novels. He also wrote the text for several photographic compilations.

From 1968, Fowles lived in the small harbour town of Lyme Regis. His interest in the town's local history resulted in his appointment as curator of the Lyme Regis Museum in 1979, a position he filled for a decade.

Wormholes, a book of essays, was published in May 1998. The first comprehensive biography on Fowles, John Fowles: A Life in Two Worlds, was published in 2004, and the first volume of his journals appeared the same year (followed recently by volume two).

John Fowles died on November 5, 2005 after a long illness.

Reviews of the Colecționarul


Now this book is one of my favorites!


Just a terrific book.


He does not stop applaud author and his works.


An interesting book that says more than you can fit

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Colecționarul by John Fowles Online free

PDF: colecionarul.pdf Colecționarul PDF
ERUB: colecionarul.epub Colecționarul ERUB
DOC: colecionarul.doc Colecționarul DOC
TXT: colecionarul.txt Colecționarul TXT